The Grazing Adventures of FarminMike


Cornell Small Farms Summit
March 8, 2010, 12:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

March 4, 2010

I drove to Cornell University to participate in this years Cornell Small Farms Program Summit, where we break up into work groups to discuss some of the issues that the Cornell Small Farms Program is going to work on for the next 2 years.

In the morning I attended the one on Grazing Lands. The fact that theres 3 million acres of underutilized farm land in New York state is staggering. We need to find a way to bring more of that land into production. We discussed some strategies to try and promote intensive grazing such as hosting some classes or certification courses. Also discussed was the fact that we needed more research on the different strategies of grazing.

All very near and dear to what I’m working with here at my internship.

After a delicious lunch, we discussed the issue of availability of slaughter houses in New York. We discussed why there is such a bottle neck on the amount of custom slaughter facilities (especially in the Fall) and some potential solutions. Fay Benson (whom I had worked with before) was there moderating the groups I was in.

All in all I heard lots of great ideas thrown around… the Cornell Small Farms Program will have plenty of work going forward… I look forward to seeing more from this group in the coming years.. for more info about the Cornell Small Farms program, check out their website… http://www.smallfarms.cornell.edu/


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment